About Us

The annual Verbier Art Summit connects thought leaders to key figures in the art world and creates a platform for discourse, innovation and change in a non-transactional context. It is an independent initiative organised by a non-profit association in partnership with a yearly rotating international museum director. The Summit’s annual meeting takes place in January in an inspirational environment: Verbier, Switzerland.

Connecting Art Thinkers

Participants of the Verbier Art Summit range from international private and corporate collectors, to museum directors, artists, curators, art historians, art critics, gallerists, and art consultants. While some of the programme is by invitation only, the general public is invited to attend the keynote lectures and special art events for free. 

Inspiring Ideas

The Verbier Art Summit educates, provokes and inspires its members and the wider community. The morning debates are part of an exclusive Member programme and take place in small groups of max. 25 members, whereby each stakeholder group is duly represented, ensuring new insights will be generated. The afternoon art talks are also open to the general public, providing all with a one-off chance to be inspired by international leading art world figures on topical issues. Participation in the Summit can also take place via the (live) broadcasts on our social media, and the key insights of each Summit are documented in an annual publication designed by Irma Boom and published by Koenig Books, London.

Taking in the View

Verbier, at an altitude of 1500m and with its stunning views across the Swiss Alps, is a unique venue for an Art Summit. Isolated from the distractions of urban life and inspired by the abundant natural beauty, people can share ideas, socialise and network whilst enjoying the sun and snow in the largest ski area of Switzerland. 

Membership Organisation 

The Verbier Art Summit is an independent initiative organised by the Verbier | Art Untold Association, a non-profit Association located in Verbier, Switzerland

Members of the Verbier Art Summit rank among the leading figures in the art world and play a role in shaping the future of art in their local communities. They include international artists, museum directors, private and corporate collectors, curators, art historians, art critics, gallerists and art consultants, all looking to have a tangible impact on the art world by sharing their ideas and vision. Through their membership, the annual talks programme can be opened to the public, providing a one-off chance to attend free 20-minute art talks by leading artists, museum directors, writers and professors in subjects such as philosophy. 

The foundation of the Verbier Art Summit is formed by a group of Founding Members, most of whom have been involved since the launch party in January 2015 and attended the Verbier Art Summits since 2016. These Founding Members are predominantly residents of Verbier (on either a permanent or seasonal basis) and are all intricately involved in art as private collectors, artists or art advisers. They “host” the Verbier Art Summit by inviting art world stakeholders to exclusive moderated art debates, exclusive lunches or dinners, and even providing housing to the keynote speakers in their beautiful chalets. Founding Members include Marie-Louise Albada Jelgersma, Helena Bjäringer, Martin Bjäringer, Hubert Bonnet, Paula Fentener van Vlissingen, Robert Fentener van Vlissingen, Domenique Forsberg, Claartje de Gruyter, Joseph de Gruyter, Tappan Heher, Dominic Hollamby, Lena Josefsson, Per Josefsson, Charles de Pauw, John Porter, Jean-Edouard van Praet, Nadia Röttger, Caspar Schübbe, Dariane Sigg, Pierre Sigg, Marie-Hélène de Torrenté.

Our Honorary Members include Rem Koolhaas, Tino Sehgal, HRH Prince Constantijn of the Netherlands, Benjamin Bratton, Cissie Fu, Christopher Kulendran Thomas, Paul Spies, Irma Boom, Tobias Madison, and Dave Beech.

All our Members are guided by a personal and/or professional curiosity to be involved in an engaged and in-depth dialogue in art. They are admitted based on their profile and general involvement in the field of art. They are expected and encouraged to actively participate in the dialogue, question or critically evaluate the set of parameters formulated by the invited key experts, and help cross-pollinate the aims and aspirations of the Summit. Members also contribute an annual membership donation to support our organisation, whereby the established art world generation Members basically provide for the young and upcoming talents. Strategic, Benefactor and Pioneer Membership applications need to be supported by an existing Member, and they will be considered by the Founder and the Board of Advisors. 

If you are interested to join our membership organisation, please contact us at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Surrounded by fellow passionate art lovers in the inspiring Swiss Alps, in 2013, Anneliek Sijbrandij began to envision the creation of an influential international art platform, which would host an annual Art Summit in Verbier. The international Summit would allow the visual arts world to connect generations and continents, to share ideas and vision, and importantly, take place away from the hustle and bustle of art fairs, where the focus has become more and more on the commercial aspects of art rather than the cultural value of art.

In the summer of 2014, Julie Daverio and Marie-Hélène de Torrenté joined forces to help make this vision possible and, together, the three of them founded the Verbier I Art Untold Association, a tax exempt non-profit Association headquartered in Verbier, Switzerland.

In 2015, the Board of Advisors was set-up, existing of leading art world figures and Verbier stakeholders. The Board currently includes Pilar Albada Jelgersma, Marlies Cordia, John Slyce, Noepy Testa and Siebe Tettero. The team is currently strengthened by Swiss PR advisor Nicolas Bernheim and Project Manager Alison Pasquariello. 


pilar albada jelgersma    Pilar Albada Jelgersma  Board of Advisors

marlies cordia       Marlies Cordia                Board of Advisors 

julie daverio        Julie Daverio               Vice President

anneliek sijbrandijAnneliek Sijbrandij      President 









john slyce              John Slyce               Board of Advisors

noepy testa            Noepy Testa               Board of Advisors &

siebe tettero      Siebe Tettero              Board of Advisors

marie helen de torrenteMarie-Hélène de Torrenté     Vice President









Melissa       Melissa Jacobovits      Consultant

Fleur Greebe       Fleur Greebe         Strategy

Fried JanFried-Jan van den Eerenbeemt 

frederik     Frederik Jacobovits      Photographer









nicolas       Nicolas Bernheim     Press Officer

Alison     Alison Pasquariello       Project Management